Co-Production Treaties

Malta has been a member of the European Convention on Cinematographic Co-Production since September 2001. The aim of this Convention is to promote the development of European multilateral cinematographic co-production to safeguard creation and freedom of expression and defend the cultural diversity of the various European countries.

Download: The Council of Europe Convention on Cinematographic Co-production 2017.

The European Convention on Cinematographic Co-Production Application Form (to request this form, please email Malta has also signed a bilateral co-production treaty with Canada. Qualifying as a Maltese film under this treaty provides a number of advantages: productions are eligible to apply for funding and will benefit from the cash rebate. Audiovisual Treaty: Malta & Canada